

## Meeting report

In connection with the 5th International Congress in Quantum Chemistry arranged by Camille Sandorfy in Montreal, Canada, under the auspices of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences, the Academy had its 22nd meeting on August 18, 1985. The Academy has maximum 30 regular members under 65 years of age, and a not limited number of members above 65. Every third year, the Academy organizes an International Congress in Quantum Chemistry, and the series contains now the following events:

1973 Menton, France 1976 New Orleans, USA 1982 Uppsala, Sweden 1985 Montreal, Canada

1979 Kyoto, Japan

The meeting decided that the 6th I.C.Q.C. will be arranged in 1988 in Jerusalem, by Joshua Jortner with the help of Bernard Pullman.

The following new regular members of the Academy were elected:

A. David Buckingham, Cambridge University, England William H. Miller, University of California, Berkeley, USA Keiji Morokuma, Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki, Japan Isiah Shavitt, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA

The following senior member was elected:

Sir David R. Bates, Queen's University of Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

The 1985 Annual Medal of the Academy was awarded to:

Per E. M. Sieghbahn, University of Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden For his contribution to the development of methods for large-scale configurational interaction.

The series of annual medal winners contains now the following names:

1967 W. Kolos 1968 R. Levine 1969 A. Dalgarno 1970 R. Hoffman 1971 E. R. Davidson 1972 J. Jortner 1973 K. Johnson 1974 W. Miller 1975 L. Salem

1979 O. Goscinsky (Awarded 1980) 1980 R. Wyatt 1981 B. Simon 1982 P. Pulay

1977 S. Peyerimhoff

1978 K. Morokuma

1983 B. Simons 1984 J. M. André

1985 P. E. M. Sieghbahn

1976 J. Cizek

86 Meeting Report

Thanks were expressed to the outgoing bureau consisting of Per-Olov Löwdin (President), Albert Pullman (Vice-President), Jaroslav Koutecky (Treasurer), Massimo Simonetta (Secretary) and Robert G. Parr (5th member). For the next 3-year period, the following bureau was elected:

Albert E. Pullman, President John Pople, Vice-President Ernest Davidson, Treasurer Jan Linderberg, Secretary Roald Hoffman, Fifth member

Per-Olov Löwdin